I’m a lazy runner.

I know some people will disagree with that. Some look at my weekly mileage and the ultra races I do and think I’m not lazy….but I am.

Ok, I do stick to a training plan (unless I’m injured or ill) and I have run several ultras. But my approach to most of my races is to finish feeling as if i could run more. That isn’t giving it my all.

Take the Lakes in a Day ultra. It was tough, I was out for 19 hours, but I could have carried on. I’m glad I didn’t have to! But I could have.

It was the same for the Highland Fling Ultra.

The thing is I hate feeling tired and I really hate feeling race tired! I want to feel ok to run again a week after an ultra. Considering this, I’m stuck on where to go with my ultra running.

I want to conquer 100 miles but I feel tired after 54 miles. I can only imagine how broken I’d feel after 100 😲. I don’t want to feel that crap 😂.

And the flatter races I’ve done I’ve hated. But tackling 100 miles…well I wouldn’t survive a hilly one! But I couldn’t imagine doing 100 miles on the flat.

Basically I want to finish a hilly 100 but I don’t want the ill effects of a hilly 100. Yes, I know I need toughen up and accept I’ll feel crap after one. But I don’t think I’m quite ready to accept that just yet.

I guess I’ll stick to 50s until I (wo)man up