So I have completed the 1st week of phase two. Now I’ve been told phase two (4 weeks) is the most important and this is where I should get the most gains. So the pressure is on. Here is what I should have done:

  • Monday – 40 mins easy
  • Tuesday – 4 x 5 min intervals
  • Wednesday – 50 min @8.45 pace
  • Thursday – 60 mins with 25 min tempo
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday – 40 mins easy
  • Sunday – 3h with 2nd hr at a faster pace

And here is what I actually did:

  • Monday – 40 mins easy @11.13 pace
  • Tuesday – 4 x 5 min intervals (7.42, 7.20, 7.54, 8.10)
  • Wednesday – 45 min @8.48 pace
  • Thursday –ย rest
  • Friday –ย 60 mins with 23 min tempo @8.06 pace
  • Saturday – 33 mins easy @10.40 pace (Parkrun)
  • Sunday – 3h 09 mins with 50 minsย at a faster pace

The positives

If I am being brutally honest, at the time of running all of the above, I couldn’t see any positives. But I must reflect and see what went well. I ran faster than it felt for the Wednesday and tempo run. I was convinced these sessions were done at a pace a lot slower than I actually ran! I am getting better at judging time. I still needed my watch for the interval times for the rest were based on feel. I quite happy about that! I would also like to add that I am managing to do my core sessions during lunch time at work. Finding the motivation to do that is a challenge in itself!

Tues 4 x 5 mins

Saturday’s parkrun was a major positive! I paced my sister around and she smashed a massive 2.50 mins of her time! She went from around 36 mins to 33! This was definitely the highlight of the week :). And how did I feel….well I ran it with a full mountain hiking backpack ๐Ÿ˜€ Not sure why but I managed it.

Note the happy face on the tempo image below….very happy with my average cadence ๐Ÿ™‚

The negatives aka future challenges

I got slower as each 5 min internal came. Yes, it was slightly uphill but it was still slower. I felt so piggin’ tired. I mean really tired! Then the Wednesday run was no better. Again I felt really tired! I’m surprised I managed to push to 45 mins. I needed Thursday to be the rest day. Friday’s tempo…..all over the place! Sprints then slowing down. As you can see by the image below, my pace was up and down for the whole 23 minutes…..and it was flat! OK, there were a couple of canal gates to navigate through but still….what the hell was I playing at! I think the spikes was a result of me shouting at myself to get this done ๐Ÿ˜€

Friday Tempo 23 mins

And then there was Sunday…..

I completed the 3h as planned and I covered the 19 miles I wanted to do but I hated every damn minute. It was a constant battle both mentally and physically. The mental side really kicked in as the body was just not responding! Now I’m writing this after several hours of reflection and I have no choice but to own up. I started dehydrated (Sorry Dale). Yes, I know better and I have no good excuse for it. My fluid intake all week has been crap. Sheer laziness and I’ve paid the price. I didn’t realise how bad it was until a few hours ago (WARNING TOILET TALK) when my wee may as well have been liquid tar! It wasn’t that bad after any of my past ultras!

And as you can see from the image below, I even had to stop a couple of times. Not good at all. And I only managed 50 mins of faster pace….barely faster.

sunday-run

I thought today’s run was bad due to tiredness etc but now I’m thinking this was a significant contributing factor. If a lesson hasn’t been learnt from this then I need my head looking at! With a big stick! Repeatedly!

 

So the week has had it’s ups and downs but I managed another weeks training even with doing over 65 hours of work (with commuting), Second week in a row! I just need to be careful about giving enough time for recovery, eating well, drinking enough and getting enough sleep. There’s no point in all this training if all I’m going to do is burn out after a few weeks and end up like a shriveled grape.

I’m ready for week 6 (with fluid intake)

