So I have just completed week 3 of marathon training and it’s been a weird week training wise. Here’s what was in my original plan:

  • Monday – rest
  • Tuesday – speed session
  • Wednesday – 40 min easy
  • Thursday – 40 min easy
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday – rest
  • Sunday – Alsager 5 race (+warm up/cool down)

And here is what I actually did:

  • Monday – 10.1 miles @9.54 pace
  • Tuesday – tempo 17 mins @8.18 pace
  • Wednesday – Steady 5 mile @9.06 pace
  • Thursday – 3.3 mile easy @10.14 pace
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday – rest
  • Sunday – Alsager 5 @7.59 pace (+2m warm up/cool down)

The positives

I ran all my runs by feel and I think I’m starting to get the hang of it! I’m even OK about the race result. Race splits were within 10 seconds of each other which I love considering this was all based on feel.  I wish I could say more positives but I can’t. Running by feel is a major positive for me. It outweighs most of the negatives below.

alsager-5-pace alsager-5-splits

The negatives

I completely misread my training schedule! I ran 10 miles on Monday as I missed my long run at the weekend due to navigation training. I should have done about 15 miles but it turned dark and I ended up turning my ankle so I cut the run short. I’m assuming this won’t have a major effect on my training due to all the hiking and hills I did the 2 days previous. I’m sure someone will let me know if that’s the case or not.

The tempo was a struggle from the beginning – maybe due to running long the day before or the absolute b*tch of a working week. I felt fine, I wasn’t tired but legs wouldn’t move. They gave way at 17 mins.

The steady run wasn’t in the plan! oops!

Then there was the race. As I said I went by feel but I went using a 10K effort feel. I’m not sure why. I have no idea if that was a good aim or not. In hindsight I could have pushed a bit harder but hindsight is a wonderful thing! 😀 I did get a bit fed up at mile 4.5 and you could see dips in my pace but I told myself off and got going again – I guess that bit is a positive? I didn’t get sub 40 mins (40.33).

A positive not related to performance: I had a great coffee break after my tempo run at Westport Lake cafe with two random elderly men. They did make me giggle 😀 If work permits, I’ll be aiming to catch up with them again. They didn’t even care how bad I smelt 😀

Let’s see how week 4 goes!

