So today marks the end of week 1 of marathon training for Paris Marathon. The plan is to talk about all the good and bad (and weird) over the next 11 weeks. If you weren’t already aware, I am recovering from a sprained ankle so the original training plan has been adapted. Here’s what it should have been:

  • Monday – 40 mins easy
  • Tuesday – 4 x 5 mins sprints
  • Wednesday – 50 mins at 9mm pace
  • Thursday – 20 min tempo
  • Friday – rest
  • Saturday – 40 mins easy
  • Sunday – 2 hr 15 mins easy

The revised plan was to make sure I did the tempo (if ankle allowed) and the long run. Anything else was a bonus! Here’s what I actually did:

  • Monday – 2 mile run/walk with sister. 12mm pace
  • Tuesday – rest
  • Wednesday – 3 x 5 min sprint @7.16-7.43mm pace. Total of 9.5 miles
  • Wednesday – 2 miles run/walk with daughter. 13.5mm pace
  • Thursday – rest
  • Friday 16 min tempo @8mm pace. Total of 5 miles
  • Saturday – Parkrun with daughter @14.2mm pace.
  • Saturday – Tegg’s Nose hike with 1,400 feet climb.
  • Sunday – 12.5 miles with 1,300 feet climb with ultra kit @10.3mm pace

Total running mileage for the week = 33.8 miles, climb (without hike) 2,290 feet.

The positives:

I can run! OK, I didn’t manage the full quota of the speed sessions but at least I could do some speed work. That is a big positive. The tempo run felt good and it was spot on plan pace. The Sunday run was so enjoyable and it was the longest I have run for several weeks. The route was a new one and I plotted a hilly one as per plan instructions. I felt particularly good about the fact I ran to the top of Mow Cop without taking a break on the hills up there. It didn’t feel too tough. Getting to the top as the sun rose was amazing. On that point I was out the house at 6.30am so I could squeeze my run in before marshal duties – a 1st for me! After seeing the sunrise it may be a a regular occurrence. I also ran with full ultra kit. Not sure why, force of habit I guess! One final thing is that I managed to finish the last couple of miles quicker than my starting pace.

The negatives:

On Wednesday’s speed session, I had to stop after 3 reps as my ankle started to twinge, then it was a slow run back home. The route I planned was longer than I thought. In hindsight, it was far too long (9.5 miles) for this type of session following ankle recovery. Lesson learnt.

I felt really irritated that my tempo on Friday was only 16 mins but I had chronic stitch. I normally run through my stitch but this was far too much to handle. I really need to sort out my breathing. Or at least not eat so close to a session.

On Sunday’s run, I had one hell of a dodgy stomach from mile 5. I had to stop a couple of times to try and find a toilet stop….I didn’t find one. This meant running the rest of the route in a lot of discomfort. I also made a stop just before reaching the top of a hill around mile 8…..why!?!?!! I could have carried on! I should have carried on! I let laziness get the better of me. Next time I do this route I won’t stop….I don’t need to. I just need to remind my brain of that. Getting to a toilet at the end was heaven! Perhaps that should be a positive 😉

Closing thoughts

Although it seems there was a lot of negatives and I the fact I didn’t hit all my planned sessions, I am very happy with the way things went. My ankle has survived and I know I can do the longer runs. I also know how I feel during speed sessions. I shall use this week as a learning week.

With a new sense of vigor, I look forward to next week’s training and the hills that come with it. Let’s hope the ankle agrees with me!

 

