Yes…I finished!   Was it plain sailing?…..No, but it was good. I put together a little video diary throughout the race which you can see below. Apologies for the moaning nature of the videos. The only time I could get to record something was when I was on the flat – which I hated! This is not a race review as such, it is more of what I have discovered on completing my 1st 50 mile ultra – Gower Ultra 50.

About mile 13

About mile 33

About mile 42

 

Top things that have stuck with me:

  • Running on the sand gets boring very quickly
  • Tarmac sucks …. a lot
  • I get very miserable when I spend too much time on the flat or tarmac
  • When I follow someone else, I end up getting lost. This cost me over 1.5 hrs
  • Running at dusk is lovely
  • I don’t appear to get blisters
  • I can’t run on rocky paths in the dark
  • Wild horses in the dark are quite freaky
  • So are sheep
  • Tailwind nutrition is piggin’ amazing!
  • I can run over 50 miles (with walks) on 3 cocktail sausage rolls, 1/2 pain au choc, 2 packets of tailwind, 1/2 can alibi and a mouth-full of hot tea
  • Running through woodland trails is my favourite, even if it is full of steps
  • On that note, who the hell put so many steps up and down the coastline?
  • My legs loosened up at about mile 47
  • Miles 29-33 ish were the worst (now I know it was due to lack of food)
  • I really enjoyed the last 3 miles
  • Running up sand dunes is HARD
  • I’m pretty sure the rock climbing I did was due to a wrong turn on the route. Scary sh*t
  • I think I experienced every type of terrain possible
  • I felt remarkably good afterwards
  • I did a sprint finish!
  • I started to plan my next event in the last 10 miles
  • I had one wee stop at mile 5. My bladder is made of steel!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

It’s now been about 48 hours since the race and my legs feel fine. No aches or pains. Doing a 3 mile recovery walk along Rhossili Bay was perfect. I strongly advise everyone to get out and walk, no matter how tired you feel. Although my legs feel good, I am really suffering with a headache and sore mouth. I am not sure if this is still the effects of dehydration or the onset of Freshers Flu. It’s probably a mix of the both.

Race Stats

I completed the race in 13 hours 15 mins. and I ran 51.6 miles, nearly 2 miles more than the official route. I am unsure why Strava has less. I can only assume it has discarded the stopped time. Accorded to RunWalkCrawl, the event organisers, I was pretty much in the middle of the results table. I am very happy with that!

With thanks

I would like to say a massive thank you to Matt Buck from Running Adventures for the training plan. If I can do a 50 mile event and still feel this good afterwards, then that man is clearly a genius!

I would also like to thank the Twitter UKRunChat Community and Vikki’s Runner Friends for their support and encouragement throughout training. You provided the ray of sunshine when I needed it.

Final thoughts: Although this race was very well organised, the bling was great and I really liked the event tee, I wouldn’t do it again. For me, there was too much tarmac. I would estimate about 1/3rd was tarmac. It was long and monotonous. If you don’t mind so much tarmac then go for it. The views are stunning!

Kit list

  • Salomon S Lab 12 ltr ultra vest
  • 2 x 500 mL soft flasks
  • Compass
  • New Balance Leadville trail shoes
  • Injini socks
  • Nike dry fit shorts
  • Thunderrun (Adidas) event tee
  • Saucony cap
  • Buff merino wool beanie
  • Inov-8 waterproof mittens
  • Inov-a race pants
  • UKRunChat neck scarf
  • GRDE waterproof headlamp
  • Smartwool NTS lightweight 195 running top
